The First Major Video Game League

https://www.ispo.com/en/markets/history-origin-esports##targetText=With%20Space%20Invaders%2C%20Atari%20laid,a%20version%20of%20%22Asteroids%22.

10/30/19

Today Mrs. Richards assigned us a task to look for a website read over it and write about it in our post. My post is about the first major video game league. The first major video game league was about a game called Space Invaders. Atari laid this cornerstone for the world’s first major eSports tournament in 1978. The early game classic was played in 1980 at the “Space Invader Championships” by over 10,000 gamers who competed against each other to win a version of “Asteroids”.On the 10th of October 1980, William Salvador Heineman was crowned the winner of the challenge. He was the first winner of a national video game competition. At the beginning of the post is the link to where I found my information for this text.

3 thoughts on “The First Major Video Game League

  • November 1, 2019 at 8:39 am
    Permalink

    That is really interesting!👍

    Reply
  • November 5, 2019 at 3:38 am
    Permalink

    Hey Zeke,
    I was in middle school when video games really took off! By the time I was in High School, video arcades were a major teenage attraction. I remember hanging out at the arcade in a small shopping center with my friends and eating the best meatball sandwiches from a little mom and pop deli. Pac-Man was the biggest attraction along with Mario.

    Thanks for reminding me of the “good ole days!”
    Mrs. Richards

    Reply
  • November 6, 2019 at 9:08 am
    Permalink

    I never realized that game leagues existed so early. The first game league I heard about was a league for an EA Sports game. This was fun to learn about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar